You are here

Douglas Mendes

Sunday, April 26, 2015
​In his Sunday column last week, my colleague, Dr Hamid Ghany shared some reflections on the abolition of appeals to the Privy Council and the theme which the Caribbean Court of Justice used as part o
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Much has already been said about the constitutional propriety of the motion of no confidence in the Leader of the Opposition which has now been dragging on and on in the House of Representatives.
Sunday, April 12, 2015
I took the time to read the debates in Parliament on the amendment to the Bail Act. I could not help but marvel at the cavalier ease with which the right to bail was whittled down.
Sunday, April 5, 2015
​The labour laws of T&T are the legislative manifestation of the historic project to control the power of trade unions.
Sunday, March 29, 2015
​Parliamentarians enjoy constitutional protection against civil and criminal proceedings for anything they might say in the course of debate in the House of Representatives or the Senate.
Sunday, March 22, 2015
We pride ourselves at being a nation of diverse ethnicities, religions and cultures, where every creed and race finds an equal place.
Sunday, March 8, 2015
​Jamaicans are in the midst of a raging debate about replacing the Privy Council with the Caribbean Court of Justice as its final court of appeal.
Sunday, March 1, 2015
Marcia Henville’s murder has again brought to the forefront the brooding spectre of domestic violence.
Sunday, February 22, 2015
​St Kitts and Nevis swore in a new prime minister last week.
Sunday, February 15, 2015
​The slow pace at which the Law Association reacts to events has been the subject of anxious head scratching and expressions of frustration from seasoned commentators.

Pages